Skip to main content

Publishing Updates & Working With Drafts

The Basics

When you're editing or updating a page, it's best to start out by creating a draft. This does a couple of helpful things:

  • It lets you detail the work you're doing by naming the draft.
  • If you need to set your work aside to attend to something else, you'll be able to pick up where you left off previously.
  • Once you've created the draft, Craft begins automatically saving your work. So if there's some kind of problem like a network or power outage, you won't lose the work you've done on the page.

This is a thing that will always happen sooner or later, so be prepared! It's incredibly easy!

Creating & Saving a Draft

Before you start working, click “Create a Draft,” which will do what it says on the label.

a screen shot showing the Save as a draft button

Once you do that you’ll see “Draft [number]” up in the dropdown box that says “Current” in the screen shots. Click the pencil icon next to it and enter a name that will help you remember what changes you made and why.

a screen shot showing how to rename a draft in Craft CMS

Now that you've created your draft, you can make updates without worrying about losing your saved work.

Submitting Your Changes

When you're done making your changes, all you need to do is click the "Save Draft and Submit for Review" button in the lower right-hand corner and you're done! Web Services will review your changes and publish them, or contact you if there's a question or concern.

A screen shot showing the Submit for review button

NOTE: If you realize you need to make more changes to a page you’ve already submitted, just click the “Revoke submission” button, which will appear where the Submit for approval button was previously.

When will my edits publish?

Web services approves and publishes changes every weekday afternoon at 3 p.m.

Keeping Track of Drafts

When you come back later to edit your draft, click the Version bar to show which versions of the page are available, including your recent drafts.

Screen shot shows the Versions pull-down menu in Craft CMS

If you’ve made changes to a page by mistake, you can revert to an earlier version of the page using the Version menu as well.

    • Select the earlier version of your page
    • Click Live Preview to make sure it’s the one you want to revert to
    • When you’ve confirmed the version you want to revert to, email web services at webmaster@okcu.edu and let us know the name or number of the version you want to revert to — “Version 4 from 11/20/2016,” for example.

That’s how you get your changes published to the live site!

Questions about Craft?

Contact Us